Related to: 'Snow Angels'

Quercus

The Quarryman's Wife

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

'Elizabeth Gill is a born storyteller' Trisha AshleyFrom the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Nobody's Child comes the next book in the beloved Weardale Sagas, continuing the story begun in The Guardian Angel.

Quercus

The Guardian Angel

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

1820. Alice Lee, middle-aged and unmarried, takes in a young murderer, Zebediah Bailey, when he's released from Durham gaol. Their acquaintance had begun when Alice's local Methodist minister had asked his congregation if anybody would help the young man, and Alice had volunteered. Alice dutifully writes him every week, sending him sweets from her shop. And when Zeb comes out and has nowhere to go, Alice takes him back to Stanhope in Weardale with her, much to the horror of her neighbours.A tale of an unlikely friendship set in the atmospheric world of 19th century Durham, this is the first in a new series set in Weardale.

Quercus

The Homecoming

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Far From My Father's House and Miss Appleby's Academy comes a rags-to-riches tale of one man's determination to succeed. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born to a mother who died in childbirth, and to a father who could never truly love him, Niall McAndrew grows up a solitary child, without a home to call his own. His only friend is Bridget, a young girl forced prematurely into womanhood. Niall has brains, spirit and ambition, as well as devastating good looks. He soon begins to make his own way in business, and becomes famous throughout the Newcastle area by befriending the wealthy and powerful mine-owner Aulay Redpath and his beautiful daughter Caitlin. But Niall's loveless childhood has left its mark, can he ever find the personal happiness he yearns for?

Quercus

Where Curlews Cry

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Preacher's Son

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

His duty was to God, but his heart was with her. A tale of love and sacrifice from the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy. Perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Diane Allen.Born into a family of Methodist preachers in County Durham, Joshua Castle knows that he too will become a minister. Though his faith is strong, his young heart is broken when he goes to Bristol to learn his trade, leaving behind Emma Meikle, the beautiful daughter of the pub landlord. In Bristol, Joshua meets the wealthy Matthews family, and though his upbringing is at odds with their lavish lifestyle, he is attracted to their daughter Patience. But can Joshua ever forget the girl he left at home?

Quercus

Home to the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a family saga perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.When Rosalind West leaves her native Durham for a job in London with the Doxbridge Motor Company she is determined to escape her background and build a new life. London is excitingly different and tantalisingly glamorous - especially when she meets the handsome and aristocratic Freddie Harrington, a rally driver, and the son of a once-wealthy Northumberland landowner. Against her friends' better judgement Freddie and Rosalind begin a relationship. But Freddie's family have plans for him which do not include marrying a Durham miner's daughter. Turning to a close companion for consolation, Rosalind suddenly finds herself torn between two men, both of strong passions, and fierce ambition.

Quercus

When Day Is Done

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Secret

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Sweet Wells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes the third book in the popular Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Catherine King, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court. Maddy Grant is a country girl, living high up on the fells above the small town of Sweet Wells, where her family has lived for hundreds of years. But when her father dies, Maddy learns the land has been sold to businessman Jonas Ward, who evicts Maddy and her mother from the house. As they scrape to make ends meet, Maddy finds herself slowly falling in love with Jonas' handsome nephew, who is also the local solicitor's son. But can she ever truly be with him, knowing how his uncle has treated Maddy's family?

Quercus

Snow Hall

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Doctor of the High Fells comes a gritty novel of one woman's determination, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.Lorna Robson works long and tiring hours in her aunt's hat shop in County Durham. Although she tries not to complain, the genteel poverty her family live in depresses her. But when she discovers that a relation has left her a large but dilapidated property, her aunt is strangely furious, and they part on bad terms. Lorna knows she can never return to the life she has made herself. And it is only when she sees Snow Hall that her situation truly dawns on her: selling the house is unthinkable, but how can she survive without money or help?

Quercus

The Foxglove Tree

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Swan Island

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy, comes the first in the Black Family trilogy. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Catherine King. Ella's happy childhood in the Swan Island district of Durham is abruptly ended when her father dies, leaving the family bankrupt. Ella and her mother leave their home behind to go and live with her grandmother, who runs the Silver Street cafe. After a first, unhappy marriage she settles into domesticity with a local businessman, David Black. But Ella can never quite forget her first love. Now a contented wife and mother, Ella soon finds she must make an impossible choice.

Quercus

Silver Street

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and The Singing Winds comes a story of family, destiny and one woman's difficult choice, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.It is the late 1930s and war is looming. Iris Black falls deeply for the handsome Johnny Fenwick, but is devastated when she discovers his father manufactures armaments. Deeply conflicted, she resolves to leave Johnny and leave to train as a nurse. Johnny is so upset by this betrayal, and quickly marries Nan Fielding, an impoverished girl who has recently lost her father. Nan and her mother have been left with nothing but a big house and are in desperate financial trouble. Johnny wants to help, but can he ever forget the girl who left him behind?

Quercus

Dreambreakers

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and sacrifice perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Dilly Court.Jenna Duncan's only ambition is to marry the boy she loves and have a little terraced house away from her parents and her dull job. Ruari Gallacher has other ideas. Ruari is determined to break away from the little seaside town where his father died down the pit and make all his dreams come true as a professional footballer.But when Rauri lets Jenna down one too many times she becomes involved with another man, and by the time Ruari asks her to escape with him, it's far too late. Will Rauri succeed in capturing his dream, and has he scarified the love of the one person who can ever make him truly happy?

Quercus

Paradise Lane

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy and Far From My Father's House comes a tale of love and destiny perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Anna Jacobs and Ellie Dean.When Thomas Grant - one of the most eligible young men in London - proposes to Annabel Seaton, she can't say she's surprised, but she is delighted. He's been her best friend since she was a child, and she can't imagine life without him. What shocks her, however, is the reaction of her mother and father. Annabel knows that her parents disapprove of her forthright opinions, but their displeasure is both unexpected and unaccountable. As they permit the engagement, however, she decides to put it out of her mind. But before she can be married, tragedy strikes, and only then does Annabel learn of the shocking secret that her parents have kept from her. Determined to learn more, she travels to Durham on a personal search that will change everything.

Quercus

Doctor of the High Fells

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Miss Applebys Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Lucy Charlton's Christmas

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill
Quercus

Miss Appleby's Academy

Elizabeth Gill
Authors:
Elizabeth Gill

The bestselling emotional saga set in County Durham. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Nadine Dorries.Emma Appleby's arrival in the County Durham village of Tow Law is sudden and mysterious, provoking deep suspicion in the locals. And because she has a child with her, seemingly out of marriage, they want nothing to do with her - except for pub landlord Mick Castle. When Emma opens an academy and sets herself up in competition with the local school, she provokes a savage response from the community. But she will not be deterred - even when her past catches up with her and Mick is forced to choose between his heart and his family.