Peter May - The Critic - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781782068860
    • Publication date:30 May 2013
Books in this series

The Critic

Enzo Macleod 2

By Peter May

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

In the second of the cold-case series, a murder mystery in a vineyard serves Enzo Macleod a perfectly chilled conundrum.

THE MILLION-SELLING AUTHOR OF THE BLACKHOUSE AND COFFIN ROAD HANDS FORENSIC SLEUTH ENZO MACLEOD A NEW COLD CASE.


GAILLAC, SOUTH-WEST FRANCE.

An unsolved case.

Gil Petty, America's most celebrated wine critic, is found strung up in a vineyard, dressed in the ceremonial robes of the Order of the Divine Bottle and pickled in wine.

An un-cracked code.

For forensic expert Enzo Macleod, the key to this unsolved murder lies in decoding Petty's mysterious reviews - which could make or break a vineyard's reputation.

An uncorked criminal.

Enzo finds that beneath the tranquil façade of French viticulture lurks a back-stabbing community riddled with rivalry - and someone who is ready to stop him even if they have to kill again.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781782062097
  • Publication date: 03 Jul 2014
  • Page count: 400
  • Imprint: riverrun
He is a terrific writer doing something different. — Mark Billingham
From the first page I knew I was in safe hands. I knew I could trust this writer. — Sophie Hannah
Wonderfully compelling. — Kate Mosse
Peter May is an author I'd follow to the ends of the earth. — New York Times
Dark, exciting and atmospheric. — Scotland on Sunday
Quercus

Sleeping Beauties

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

The Irish Bestselling author of With Our Blessing and Beneath the SurfaceThe inspector frowned and examined the earth under the trees. As he scanned the glade, his stomach lurched. One, two, three, four. Five, counting the mound of earth disturbed under the tent. Somebody had cleared the earth of its natural layer and sown their own flowers.In five places.Five graves.A young woman, Fiona Holland, has gone missing from a small Irish village. A search is mounted, but there are whispers. Fiona had a wild reputation. Was she abducted, or has she run away? A week later, a gruesome discovery is made in the woods at Ireland's most scenic beauty spot - the valley of Glendalough. The bodies are all young women who disappeared in recent years. D.I. Tom Reynolds and his team are faced with the toughest case of their careers - a serial killer, who hunts vulnerable women, and holds his victims captive before he ends their lives. Soon the race is on to find Fiona Holland before it's too late.

Quercus

Wrong Way Home

Isabelle Grey
Authors:
Isabelle Grey

Sarah Hilary calls Isabelle Grey's books 'compelling and compassionate'. A must-read for fans of Susie Steiner, Clare Mackintosh, Broadchurch and Line of DutyEveryone in Southend remembers the night of the fire. Two lives were saved from the burning Marineland resort, while metres down the beach another was lost when a young woman was raped and murdered. The killer was never found. Now, twenty-five years on, DI Grace Fisher is handed new DNA evidence that could blow the cold case wide open. But what are the chances of really getting to the truth after all this time?Meanwhile, eager would-be journalist Freddie Craig decides to prove himself by conducting his own investigation and turning his findings into a podcast. It will be good for his CV, and maybe he'll even make a breakthrough in the case... Experienced hack Ivo Sweatman is flattered when the cub reporter turns to him for advice, but as Freddie becomes more obsessed with the case, Ivo starts to worry that the line between fact and wishful thinking is becoming dangerously blurred. Just as a series of revelations lead Grace to believe the case is closed, a similar murder is committed. Does she have the wrong man? Or are there two separate killers to deal with?

Quercus

The Dark Angel

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths

riverrun

Untitled Peter May

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

Zen and the Art of Murder

Oliver Bottini
Authors:
Oliver Bottini

The first in a gripping new crime series set in Germany - the Black Forest InvestigationsLouise Boni, maverick chief inspector with the Black Forest crime squad, is struggling with her demons. Divorced at forty-two, she is haunted by the shadows of the past. Dreading yet another a dreary winter weekend alone, she receives a call from the departmental chief which signals the strangest assignment of her career - to trail a Japanese monk wandering through the snowy wasteland to the east of Freiburg, dressed only in sandals and a cowl. She sets off reluctantly, and by the time she catches up with him, she discovers that he is injured, and fearfully fleeing some unknown evil. When her own team comes under fire, the investigation takes on a terrifying dimension, uncovering a hideous ring of child traffickers. The repercussions of their crimes will change the course of her own life.Oliver Bottini is a fresh and exciting voice in the world of crime fiction in translation; the Rhine borderlands of the Black Forest are a perfect setting for his beautifully crafted mysteries.Translated from the German by Jamie Bulloch

MacLehose Press

Rosy & John

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre

Jean Garnier lives on the fringes - a lonely nobody who has lost everything dear to him. His girlfriend was killed in an unexplained accident, his mother has just been sent to prison - he has even lost his job after the sudden death of his boss.In one last, desperate cry for help, Jean sets up seven lethal bombs, hidden all over Paris and timed so that one will explode every 24 hours.After the first detonation, Jean gives himself up to the police. He has one simple demand: his mother must be released, or the daily explosions will continue.Camille Verhoeven is faced with a race against time to uncover the secrets of this troubled young man and avert a massive human disaster.

Quercus

The Vanishing Box

Elly Griffiths
Authors:
Elly Griffiths
Quercus

The Hit

Anna Smith
Authors:
Anna Smith

'The real deal . . . Rosie Gilmour is a captivating character who drags the reader along at breakneck speed' Daily ExpressA money-laundering accountant disappears in Romania. The hitman hired to disappear him is found dead in a Glasgow flat. And the owner of the flat, the accountant's widow, claims she knows nothing about it.Crime reporter Rosie Gilmour isn't convinced by Helen Lewis's innocent facade - she is convinced Helen was the one who ordered the hit on her husband, and she's going to prove it. But when she discovers that Helen's husband worked for a ring of gangsters selling babies from Romanian orphanages, her focus shifts. Now she has two sets of criminals to bring to justice - she'd better pray they don't catch up with her first.A nail-biting thriller for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Dreda Say Mitchell and Jessie Keane

riverrun

The Runner

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
MacLehose Press

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye: Continuing Stieg Larsson's Millennium Series

David Lagercrantz
Authors:
David Lagercrantz
Jo Fletcher Books

The Witch at Wayside Cross

Lisa Tuttle
Authors:
Lisa Tuttle
MacLehose Press

Three Days and a Life

Pierre Lemaitre
Authors:
Pierre Lemaitre
MacLehose Press

After the War

Hervé Le Corre
Authors:
Hervé Le Corre

1950's Bordeaux. Even now, the Second World War is never far from people's memories, particularly in a city where the scars of collaboration and resistance are more keenly felt than ever. But another war has already begun. A war without a name, far away across the sea, in Algeria, where young men are sent to fight in a brutal conflict.Daniel knows what awaits him. He's heard stories. Patrols, ambushes, reprisals, massacres, mutilations, all beneath a burning north African sun. He has just a month left before he leaves but, haunted by the loss of his parents and sister in the atrocities of the last war, Daniel questions why he is even going to fight in the first place.Meanwhile, past crimes are returning to haunt Albert Darlac, the godfather of Bordeaux: corrupt police chief, fascist sympathiser and one-time collaborator. Before long, a series of explosive events will set off a spiral of violence that will bring the horrific legacy of wars past and present to the streets of Bordeaux.Translated from the French by Sam Taylor

Quercus

The Templars' Last Secret

Martin Walker
Authors:
Martin Walker
Quercus

With Our Blessing

Jo Spain
Authors:
Jo Spain

THE TOP TEN IRISH BESTSELLER. Shortlisted for the 2015 Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller Competition. Discover more DI Tom Reynolds with the next book in the series, Beneath the Surface.It's true what they say . . . revenge is sweet. 1975. A baby, minutes old, is forcibly taken from its devastated mother. 2010. The body of an elderly woman is found in a Dublin public park in the depths of winter.Detective Inspector Tom Reynolds is working the case. He's convinced the murder is linked to historical events that took place in the notorious Magdalene Laundries. Reynolds and his team follow the trail to an isolated convent in the Irish countryside. But once inside, it becomes disturbingly clear that the killer is amongst them . . . and is determined to exact further vengeance for the sins of the past.(P)2017 WF Howes Ltd

riverrun

Snakehead

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May

THE FOURTH CHINA THRILLER, FROM THE MILLION-SELLING PETER MAY - AUTHOR OF THE RICHARD AND JUDY BESTSELLER THE BLACKHOUSE.SUFFOCATEDA vehicle crammed with dozens of dead Chinese immigrants is found in southern Texas. Pathologist Margaret Campbell must put aside her horror, and find out why. SUMMONEDDetective Li Yan - an even more unwelcome memory for Campbell - has arrived stateside to investigate a link in the case to a lucrative trade in illegal labourers. SNAKEHEADLi and Campbell will soon find that the crime scene hides another secret: a biological time bomb linking traffickers, politicians and migrants in Beijing, Washington and Texas - posing multiple countries one, very singular, threat.

riverrun

Cast Iron

Peter May
Authors:
Peter May
Quercus

The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman

Mindy Mejia
Authors:
Mindy Mejia

SUNDAY TIMES CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH 'A haunting piece of fiction''Beautifully written . . . a future star in crime writing' Daily Mail'Utterly absorbing and original' Elly Griffiths, author of the Dr Ruth Galloway MysteriesNo one keeps more secrets. No one is better at hiding them. Full of twists and turns, with an ending you will never see coming and characters that will stay with you long after the book is finished, THE LAST ACT OF HATTIE HOFFMAN is a gripping psychological mystery perfect for fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Clare Mackintosh's I SEE YOU.Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman tells the story of the Hattie behind the masks, and what happened in that final year of her life. . .Wonderfully evocative of its Midwestern setting and with a cast of unforgettable characters, this is a book about manipulation of relationships and identity; about the line between innocence and culpability; about the hope love offers and the tragedies that occur when it spins out of control.

Quercus

Get Real

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake
Quercus

What's So Funny?

Donald E. Westlake
Authors:
Donald E. Westlake