Rosanna Ley - Bay of Secrets - Quercus

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781780875071
    • Publication date:25 Apr 2013
  • Downloadable audio file £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781848668317
    • Publication date:01 May 2014

Bay of Secrets

By Rosanna Ley

  • Paperback
  • £7.99

Set between England and the Spanish Canary Islands, three women learn the truth about their shared past, and discover the importance of family.

The bestselling author of The Villa and The Saffron Trail returns with a gorgeous summer read about romance, family and the secrets we keep from those we love.

Perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore, Dinah Jefferies and Harriet Evans.

Spain, 1939.

Following the wishes of her parents to keep her safe during the war, a young girl, Julia, enters a convent in Barcelona. Looking for a way to maintain her links to the outside world, she volunteers to help in a maternity clinic. But worrying adoption practices in the clinic force Sister Julia to decide how far she will go to help those placed in her care.

England, 2011.

Six months after her parents' shocking death, 34-year-old journalist and jazz enthusiast Ruby Rae has finally found the strength to pack away their possessions and sell the family home. But as she does so, she unearths a devastating secret her parents, Vivien and Tom, had kept from her all her life.

Biographical Notes

Rosanna Ley works as a creative tutor and has written many articles and stories for national magazines. Her writing holidays and retreats take place in stunning locations in Spain and Italy. When she is not travelling, Rosanna lives in West Dorset by the sea.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9781780875064
  • Publication date: 25 Apr 2013
  • Page count: 560
  • Imprint: Quercus
Vividly written with a compelling storyline, this is top escapism — Closer
I loved the sultry sensuous feeling . . . A fascinating story with engaging themes — Dinah Jefferies, bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife
A perfect holiday read, to be devoured in one sitting — The Lady
A great page-turner — Lucinda Riley, bestselling author
A gorgeous, mouth-watering dream of a holiday read! — Red Online
An impeccably researched and deftly written narrative that kept me hooked until the end — Kathryn Hughes, bestselling author of The Letter
A beautifully crafted slice of escapist fiction — Heat
Compelling — Hello
Elegant storytelling at its best; poetic and touching — Veronica Henry
Like all good escapism it takes you to another place and another time ... the gentleness and authenticity of Rosamund Pilcher, with its strong sense of place, family and friendship. What a winning combination! — Veronica Henry, author of The Long Weekend
MacLehose Press

One Clear Ice-cold January Morning at the Beginning of the 21st Century

Roland Schimmelpfennig
Authors:
Roland Schimmelpfennig
riverrun

Almost Love

Louise O'Neill
Authors:
Louise O'Neill
Quercus

The Love Factory

Elaine Proctor
Authors:
Elaine Proctor

A smart, sexy, witty novel about love and desire, and how losing everything can sometimes be the best thing that ever happened to youAnna is a writer whose small but perfectly formed novels sell zip. When she falls on hard times and tries her hand at erotic fiction, she faces an uncomfortable truth. Though she's a wife and mother of two, her stories fail to fly because she's never experienced true sexual desire. Even her Sicilian grandmother - wearer of diamante sunglasses and knock-off Louis Vuitton - knows more than she does about true passion. A romance-writing workshop doesn't help, so Anna turns to her friends for inspiration. As secrets and desires are revealed, Anna discovers more about the people close to her than she ever knew. When Cordelia, a romance-writing classmate, suggests she borrows an alter ego to banish her inhibitions, a new world opens up to Anna and The Love Factory - a group of writers penning ever more successful sexy stories - is born. And yet Anna knows that she can't rely on borrowed passion and an alter ego forever. For her tales to truly sizzle, she needs to find a proper love of her own.

Quercus

Her Mother's Secret

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley

Escape to the heart of beautiful, sun-drenched Brittany with the bestselling author of The Villa and The Little Theatre by the Sea. The perfect treat for fans of Santa Montefiore and Veronica Henry.For most of her life Colette has avoided returning to her homeland - the beautiful island of Belle-Ile - afraid to confront the painful memories she left behind. She is living on the Cornish coast when she hears about her mother Thea's failing health and reluctantly she decides to return. But can Colette ever forgive Thea for what she has done?Despite Colette's wariness, romantic Belle-Ile, where her mother runs the local flower shop, still fascinates her and as Thea opens up to her for the first time, Colette finds herself softening and being drawn back into the landscape of her past. She meets Étienne, a tortured soul who shares her confused feelings towards the island, and a strong bond begins to develop between them.But the ghosts of the past still linger. What happened all those years ago and how did it cause the rift between mother and daughter? It becomes clear that the beauty of Belle-Ile hides a devastating family secret - one that Colette is determined to unravel at any cost.

MacLehose Press

A Hero Born

Jin Yong
Authors:
Jin Yong

China. The year is 1200. The Song Empire has been defeated in the north by invading Jurchen forces. Pushed further south, the empire is in danger of collapse and the Chinese population is furious. Now it falls to lone patriots trained in the martial arts to save China. Guo Jing's father was one such hero, killed in defence of his country. His mother was forced to flee to the edges of the empire, where Guo Jing was brought up fighting with Genghis Khan. Yang Kang, Guo Jing's sworn brother since birth, grew up to a different fate among the enemy. Enter Qiu Chuji, a Taoist priest famed for his martial prowess and burning patriotism. Enlisting the help of the eccentric band of martial artists known as the Seven Freaks of the South, he must find the two young men and train them in a way befitting the memory of their fathers, to take back China.Translated from the Chinese by Anna Holmwood

MacLehose Press

About the Size of the Universe

Jón Kalman Stefánsson
Authors:
Jón Kalman Stefánsson

At the beginning of this story there is death, and yet it is a celebration of life - the lives of many generations of Ari's family - of the passion between a man and a woman, forbidden love, violence, sorrow, betrayal and depression. Happiness and misfortune are passed down from one generation to the next - the sorrow over what was and what might have been weighs heavily on the characters - and at the end of this chain, for now, stands Ari, on his way to his dying father, with a score still to be settled.The raw beauty of life is written into the dramatic Icelandic landscape, and into a society that has undergone great transformation within a century. In language both archaic and lyrical, and yet entirely contemporary, piercingly melancholic and yet refreshingly full of humour, Jón Kalman Stefánsson proves himself to be one of the finest European writers of his generation.A companion volume to Fish Have No Feet (longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize 2017).Translated from the Icelandic by Philip Roughton

riverrun

Seventeen

Hideo Yokoyama
Authors:
Hideo Yokoyama
MacLehose Press

The Impostor

Javier Cercas
Authors:
Javier Cercas
MacLehose Press

Winds of the Night

Joan Sales
Authors:
Joan Sales
Jo Fletcher Books

The Crow Garden

Alison Littlewood
Authors:
Alison Littlewood

MacLehose Press

The Burnt-Out Town of Miracles

Roy Jacobsen
Authors:
Roy Jacobsen
Quercus

The Wardrobe Mistress

Natalie Meg Evans
Authors:
Natalie Meg Evans
Quercus

The List

Joanna Bolouri
Authors:
Joanna Bolouri
Quercus

A Perfect Husband

Hilary Boyd
Authors:
Hilary Boyd
MacLehose Press

Nevada Days

Bernardo Atxaga
Authors:
Bernardo Atxaga
MacLehose Press

Vernon Subutex 1

Virginie Despentes
Authors:
Virginie Despentes

WHO IS VERNON SUBUTEX?An urban legend. A fall from grace. The mirror who reflects us all.Vernon Subutex was once the proprietor of Revolver, an infamous music shop in Bastille. His legend spread throughout Paris. But by the 2000s his shop is struggling. With his savings gone, his unemployment benefit cut, and the friend who had been covering his rent suddenly dead, Vernon Subutex finds himself down and out on the Paris streets.He has one final card up his sleeve. Even as he holds out his hand to beg for the first time, a throwaway comment he once made on Facebook is taking the internet by storm. Vernon does not realise this, but the word is out: Vernon Subutex has in his possession the last filmed recordings of Alex Bleach, the famous musician and Vernon's benefactor, who has only just died of a drug overdose. A crowd of people from record producers to online trolls and porn stars are now on Vernon's trail.Translated from the French by Frank Wynne

MacLehose Press

The Baltimore Boys

Joël Dicker
Authors:
Joël Dicker

Fresh from the staggering success of The Truth about the Harry Quebert Affair, Marcus Goldman is struggling to write his third novel. A chance encounter in Florida throws him some inspiration from a surprising source: Alexandra Neville, the beautiful, phenomenally successful singer and Marcus's first love. All at once, memories of his childhood come flooding back. Memories of a family torn apart by tragedy, and a once glorious legacy reduced to shame and ruin.The Baltimore Boys. The Goldman Gang. That was what they called Marcus, and his cousins Hillel and Woody. Three brilliant young men with their whole lives ahead of them, before their kingdom crumbled beneath the weight of lies, jealousy and betrayal. For years, Marcus has struggled with the burdens of his past, but now, he must attempt to banish his demons and tell the real story of the Baltimore Boys.Translated from the French by Alison Anderson

Quercus

The Night Visitor

Lucy Atkins
Authors:
Lucy Atkins
Quercus

The Little Theatre by the Sea

Rosanna Ley
Authors:
Rosanna Ley
Quercus

A Harvest of Thorns

Corban Addison
Authors:
Corban Addison